SAR flagArizona State flagArizona Society

Sons of the American Revolution

Organized June 13, 1896


css dropdown menu by

Go to bottom of page

Frequently Asked Questions

What Is The Sons of the American Revolution?

The SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION was incorporated on January 17, 1890 in Connecticut and later chartered by the United States Congress on June 9, 1906.  Prior to this date a number of state societies were formed in the 1890's. The  Sons of Revolutionary Sires, organized July 4, 1876 in San Francisco led these.  The first Congress of the National Society was held in Louisville, Kentucky on April 30, 1890 which was the 100th anniversary of George Washington's taking of the oath of office of President of the United States. The purposes of the Sons of the American Revolution are patriotic, historical and educational. This includes:
The National Headquarters is located in Louisville, Kentucky. There are 50 state societies including the District of Columbia. There are also societies in France, the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany and Switzerland. The current membership is approximately 25,000 active members.

What Does The Organization Do?

What Are The Requirements For Membership?

Any man of age eighteen (18) years or over, who is a lineal descendant of an ancestor who supported the war for American Independence, is eligible for membership in the Sons of the American Revolution. These ancestors are referred to as Revolutionary War Patriots and include those persons who fought in the military and/or the militia, who provided supplies to the American cause, who served on political bodies supporting the Revolution, who signed oaths of support and similar acts.

Acceptable Service

To Obtain Sponsorship for Membership

Email Membership Chairman John Lyons.


The National Society of The Sons of the American Revolution Website


Page revised
23 February 2015
Back to Top Valid XHTML 1.0